A Presidential Honor on Inauguration Day

Last spring I wrote a post entitled “Civil War Week” which featured three Civil War related activities I had been pursuing.  One of them was to obtain a headstone from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs  for my great grandfather, William P. Donar, who served in Company C, 25th New York State Infantry during the Civil War. I wrote about his service and my experience in obtaining a grave marker for him in this post which appeared on GeneaJourneys November 11, 2012.

The second part of my post last spring referred to the opportunity for military family members and veterans’ descendants to obtain a “Presidential Memorial Certificate” signed by the current U.S. President acknowledging the military service of a loved one. I applied to the government for that certificate, as well, for both of my Civil War great grandfathers.

Presidentail memorial CErtificate honoring Civil War Veteran William P. Donar, signed by President Barack Obama.

The Presidential Memorial Certificate honoring Civil War Veteran William P. Donar, signed by President Barack Obama.

While I’m still awaiting the certificate for my great grandfather Edward Kennedy (1st Regiment, New York Volunteer Engineers), I did receive the one above for William P. Donar.

I’m posting it today, January 20, 2012, in honor of both William Donar’s service to his country over 150 years ago, and in honor of  President and Commander-In-Chief  Barack Obama, who signed that certificate, as he celebrates his second inauguration today as President of the United States.

__________

If you’re interested in learning about how to obtain a Presidential Memorial Certificate like the one above for the patriot in your family here’s the link to do so: http://www.cem.va.gov/pmc.asp.

For complete details on obtaining a marker for a veteran in your family who’s buried in an unmarked grave go to: http://www.cem.va.gov/hm_hm.asp  where you’ll find  an application form (VA Form 40-1330) and complete directions for submitting it.

To read about Edward Kennedy’s role in the Civil War as a builder of bridges and lookout towers for the Union Army see this post on GeneaJourneys.wordpress.com which appeared on this blog November 7, 2011.

___

Copyright © 2013 Patricia Desmond Biallas

This entry was posted in Cemeteries, Civil War, Letters to my Ancestors, Military and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Presidential Honor on Inauguration Day

  1. Lisa says:

    Very cool, Pat

  2. Lorene says:

    Very cool!

  3. tdv31@aol.com says:

    Pat — another treasure–thanks to you.!!! You are a treasure also! Dorothy

  4. Thanks, Pat, for this post. I had no idea about the certificate, but I know some family members would be grateful to receive one. I’ll have to go back and read your old posts to find out even more! 🙂

  5. Our Lineage says:

    Thanks, Pat. My mother-in-law received her Presidential Memorial Certificate in the mail yesterday and was definitely moved by it. I had filled out the form after you made this post.

    Thanks again!
    Wendy

    • I’m so glad you got it. It’s nice to have, isn’t it?! I actually submitted forms for two different military men in the family and have only received one so far. Good reminder to me to check on the other.

      Pat

Leave a Reply

