NSDU and DUVCW confirm descendancy

A double confirmation today of my descendance from two Civil War soldiers–both are my mother’s grandfathers.

Today’s mail brought this colorful, detailed certificate from the Daughters of  Union Veterans of the Civil War acknowledging the service of my Great Grandfather William Donar who served from May 31, 1862 to September 8, 1862 with Company C, 25th Regiment, New York Infantry.

I received a similar certificate confirming my relationship to this patriot  a few months ago from the National Society Daughters of the Union (see Three New Daughters of the Union and It’s Official!)

The other acknowledgement I received  today was at the quarterly meeting of the National Society Daughters of the Union. This one is for my Great Grandfather Edward Kennedy who served the Union from February 25, 1865 through June 30, 1865 as an artificer and pontonnier with Company L, 1st Regiment, New York Engineers.

Both great grandfathers served for three months in regiments from the state of New York. It’s unclear how or where William Donar served but for details about Edward Kennedy’s service as a bridge builder and pontonnier see Edward Kennedy: Civil War Pontonnier!

___

Copyright © 2012 Patricia Desmond Biallas

This entry was posted in Civil War, Heritage Societies, Military and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to NSDU and DUVCW confirm descendancy

  1. Lorene says:

    Very nice to have these certificates.

  2. Meg Biallas says:

    Nice scanning job, Mom! Also: congrats on confirming these details. You really are the family detective!

  3. Jana Last says:

    So cool!! Congratulations!! My 2nd great-grandfather served in the Civil War (Union). I’ll have to check out the links in your post.

    • Thanks, Jana! Have you tried applying to either of these organizations? It can be a time-consuming task to produce the proofs but it’s very gratifying to have objective third parties actually acknowledge your genealogical findings.

      • Jana Last says:

        No, I haven’t yet. I’ll have to check it out. I also qualify as a DAR (4th great-grandfather was a Revolutionary War Surgeon), so I’m assuming by applying to the NSDU, I’d only have a few more steps to go for the DAR. 🙂

  4. I found your blog entry today by chance on the 150th anniversary of the battle of Gettysburg. Congratulations, Pat, on your membership in these organizations. I, too, am a member of the DUVCW. Thanks for sharing your connections to these wonderful organizations.

    • You’re welcome, Lisa. Five years ago, I never would have pictured myself as a member of a heritage organization since I had no idea I even had ancestors whose service would have qualified me to join. What a difference a little family history research can make!

Leave a Reply

